Rainbow Cake

New Year’s Resolution: blog more often.

That’s one of many on the list. The last half of 2010 has been crazy, juggling two jobs on top of everything else that comes with normal life. My free time was limited, and when I did find time, I had two options: bake… or blog. I usually sided with baking something new, since that was more theraputic and blogging requires thinking. Call me lazy – thus creating a backlog up the wazoo of new stuff to blog, and an ever increasing folder on my desktop titled with all caps: NEED TO BLOG.

But I’m excited to say that life in 2011 will be different. I’m leaving my current sales job in San Francisco, and doing a huge career change, which means I’m going back to school! This was a decision that was placed on my heart a couple of months ago, and the boldness of it scared my pants off. After much prayer, doing tons of research, and talking with super supportive friends and family, I jumped at it, enrolled in school, and next week will be my last one at work. Hooray! For anyone that’s ever done a career change, it’s an emotional rollercoaster with lots of anxiety, excitement, and anticipation of what’s ahead. You’re never too old to go back to school, right? You betcha. 

Along with being a full-time student, I’ll still be working my job as  a cupcake baker. You can’t keep me out of the kitchen, and I figure that after studying on my butt all day, it’ll be good to be on my feet, work with my hands, and bust out cupcakes like no other. I’m not quite sure if my schedule will be busier now than before, but don’t worry friends, I’m still blogging, be it ever so gradually.

When my eyes first laid sight of this rainbow cake on Cheeky Kitchen (click link for recipe), it was an immediate bookmark and on my list for the next birthday in line. So when one of my youth group girls’ sweet 16 came up, it took me half a second to know what to bake for her. The colors are so vibrant, and each layer has its own fruity distinctiveness to it.

 

Who can forget Mr. Roy G. Biv from the days of grade school! Well we’re only working with six layers here, so we’re kinda combining the indigo with the violet, cause I could never figure out the difference between those two colors anyway. Everything else is covered–raspberries for R, orange for O, lemon for Y, lime for G, blueberries for B, and for the last layer I did a mix of raspberries and blueberries for I and V. Here’s the birthday girl! (picture quality and lighting starts to get compromised here since we’re now at the restaurant and I’m using my point and shoot)

Before the cake was cut, people kept hounding me and asking what flavor it was, and I had to keep saying “wait and see”. Kids don’t like answers like that, but after waiting for it to be sliced open, they were stunned! Everyone started saying it tasted like fruit loops. I agreed – it was yummy, and all covered in a white chocolate frosting.  

This cake is sure to brighten your day. Happy New Year everyone! Three cheers for lots of love, hope, and giving for 2011.

- Ai

3 Responses to “Rainbow Cake”


  1. 1 Sopheak San January 17, 2011 at 11:33 am

    It looks so yummy; inspiring me to bake…thx for sharing…

  2. 3 tia May 25, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    i love this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email:

Join 31 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

