Almond Toffee Crunch

Slow start…but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking of my next post. It’s just that I realize that these things take TIME. Right. I have been baking up a frenzy though, so more to come on that. I have no excuses for my back-postings.

Almond Toffee Crunch is the ultimate snack for your sweet tooth. The great thing about this recipe is that it only takes a handful of ingredients, so it’s easy, you don’t need to bust out all the mixers and tools, and if you use parchment paper, it’s a quick clean up because you just throw it away! I first made this when I was out overseas a couple years ago after college, and the kids in Taiwan loved it. It was from Allrecipes, and everyone was so impressed they thought it took me hours to make, and I just sat back and smiled without saying anything. Then recently I saw it pop up on Alice’s Savory Sweet Life and it brought up memories galore–I just had to make it again.

It starts off with a sleeve of saltine crackers:

Then after melting butter and sugar together, topped with chocolate and almonds, it ends up like this:

They’re addicting! I took these to work and just munched away everyday until it was gone. Another close-up:

Almond Chocolate Toffee Crunch
From Savory Sweet Life

Ingredients:
1 sleeve of saltine crackers
1 cup butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups chocolate chips
1 cup chopped almonds, toasted

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray cookie sheet with non-stick spray, and line the crackers on the cookie sheet side by side.  Melt butter and brown sugar in a medium pan on medium-high heat.   Stirring often, heat the mixture for about 3-5 minutes until it turns into a nice caramel looking sauce. Pour the sauce over the crackers until they are completely covered.  Bake for 15 minutes, then remove from oven and immediately sprinkle chocolate chips over the cookie sheet.  The chocolate should start to melt.  With a spoon, spread the melted chocolate over the toffee mixture and top with nuts.  Let it cool completely before breaking toffee up in pieces. Store in airtight container.

Enjoy!

– Ai

1 Response to “Almond Toffee Crunch”


  1. 1 Christine Chang March 30, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Hey I just finished making these, these were really good. The sides started to burn at 10 minutes so I took the caramel crackers out from the oven after that. I couldn’t wait for them to dry so I ate them fudgy, and they’re good like that too!!


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email:

Join 29 other followers


