Bacon Pecan Ice Cream

 

Bacon isn’t something I eat on a normal basis. Maybe it’s because I look at them and see thick strips of fat, which makes me think of my jiggle areas. But if you think about it (call it my justification), butter is thick sticks of fat, sticks are much bigger than strips, and you can’t keep me away from my butter. Worse? Who knows, but I am now on board with bacon! So when I began seeing different bacon recipes, one of the first ones that stood out was bacon chocolate cupcakes. Bookmarked. Then I saw bacon ice cream, and that got me excited. Bacon and caramel are two flavors that are meant to be.

I’m not one to make my own ice cream since I don’t have an ice cream maker. So instead I bought ice cream from the store and mixed in different ingredients. All you need is bacon, pecans, and dulce de leche ice cream (caramel ice cream works too):

Toasting the pecans give it a great flavor–just take a cup of pecans, toss it with a tablespoon of melted salted butter (if your butter is unsalted, just add in 2 pinches of salt) and spread it out on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for 5-10 minutes in a 325 degree oven. Watch it carefully though, they toast quickly. Let cool and do a rough chop.

Cooking the bacon has always been a messy experience for me since I usually do it on the stovetop in a pan. Grease starts to splatter everywhere and it burns quickly. Well no more, because now I will cook all of my bacon in the oven! It’s so much easier, you can let the fat drip out, and clean up is a cinch, just remove the foil and throw away! All you have to do is line the baking sheet with foil, and clump up another longer piece of foil for the middle. The bacon will sit on the mound of foil, and the fat will drip off so it’s elevated and not sitting in its own grease. Stick it in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes or until it’s as crispy as you like it. The smell of bacon cooking slowly fills the house and you’ll find yourself salivating.

 

Chop it all up and mix into the softened ice cream:

After it’s all mixed up, place it in a container, freeze it for a couple of hours until firm, and scoop and serve.

I topped it off with a sprinkle of chopped bacon and pecans, but just it’s completely fine on it’s own too. The reactions were so amusing. It starts with “Wait, did you say bacon?” and then after trying it, they take a minute to concentrate on the flavors, and everyone ends up really enjoying it. Or you can surprise them and not tell them it’s bacon until after they try it. The texture is interesting too–creamy, with crunchy pecans, and chewy bacon bits. It’s a hit, and as one of my friends said, “there’s a party in my mouth!”

– Ai

Bacon Pecan Ice Cream 

Half Gallon Dulce de Leche or Caramel Ice Cream, softened
1 cup toasted pecans, chopped
1 cup cooked bacon, chopped

In a large bow, mix pecans and bacon into softened ice-cream. Pour into container with lid and freeze for at least 3 hours, or overnight, until firm. Scoop into bowl, and lightly sprinkle with additional chopped bacon and toasted pecans, if desired. Serve immediately!

0 Responses to “Bacon Pecan Ice Cream”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email:

Join 29 other subscribers